Alex design //WIP

Image

I’ve been working on the character design for Alex for most of today. Alex is a very special character, possibly my favourite all of my OCs. He features in a lot of different stories that I wrote, mostly one-offs. Kinda like Osamu Tezuka’s star system! If I remember correctly, I was in year 3 when I made Alex… that was literally 10+ years ago, so you probably understand why he’s very important to me. Like Ryu, his role has changed over the years but his appearance is still the same (other than the clothes). He was originally a student with a cute lil’ brother who gets lost and he goes to find him~ I guess I could still use that story XD

Alex’s story is rather weird so keep that in mind when reading this :L Alex is a prince in the dragon kingdom but his specialty is magic, not knight/warrior like most people would think. Because of this, I obviously wanted him to wear the typical robe-like, baggy clothing with nice patterns. One problem I had was that I wanted his clothing to be transparent and when I realised that his pants would be transparent… I had to think of a way to cover that area. It took a few times before I got it right but I’m pretty happy with how this came out! 

The design is based on his magic clothing as he is a magician, but he switches between clothing. I’m still contemplating colours and designs. I originally wanted to add a dragon on the fabric in the style of paleolithic iconography but it didn’t fit so I draw out some patterns based on the St George’s cross too. I’m still gonna be working on this design all tomorrow so I’ll keep you guys updated! The transparent bits are white but for the rest of the colours, I’m thinking a baby blue or purple for royalty or grey as it’s a neutral colour.I will upload drawings of his familiar Caelum (pronounced kai-loom) tomorrow along with the finished since she is pretty important too!

Alex’s story: As mentioned, Alex is a 10 year old prince of the dragon kingdom. However, unsatisfied with the meaning of life, he runs away from home and travels around the kingdom with his familiar (which is a shape-shifting weapon. VERY Confusing, I’ll explain later). He meets a boy named Robert but keeps his identity a secret until he has found the answer to his purpose. Story isn’t extremely developed yet. XD

Author: Jo

Graphic designer and dreamer. Contact: law.jo233@gmail.com

One thought on “Alex design //WIP”

Leave a comment