Alex redesign coloured //WIP

ImageImage

Here are the coloured designs for my character Alex! You can see the sketch here.

I was torn between the colours. I love black and white and I felt that having no colour, other than the hair and eyes, would suit Alex a lot. But then the design looked really plain and didn’t really portray his personality as a happy-go-lucky and cheerful boy yet sophisticated character. Then I couldn’t decide whether to make the white clothing opaque or transparent… It had alway been opaque when I first made Alex a mage, like in this really old picture but recently I made the clothing transparent (in this picture) and I think it looks great! Of course, I had to redesign him a little such as the shorts but I’m still torn between the 2.

I’m not really sure what kind of pattern I want on the blue clothing as well… I’d like Alex to represent me as well as just being a character so I’m learning more towards the star/galaxy pattern but I want it to be an intellectual design as well. The second pattern is based on St George’s cross and the third one is a dragon based on paleolithic paintings.

Anyway, when his design is complete I’ll post him up!

Author: Jo

Graphic designer and dreamer. Contact: law.jo233@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Alex redesign coloured //WIP”

Leave a comment