How to remove window gel decorations/clings from furniture! (and doors)

I thought I REALLY had to make this post so people in the future will know how to get rid of it in the future!

Okay, so I bought some Christmas gel decorations from Poundland and put them on my toilet door. I left them there for a few days and one of them fell off so I picked it up to put it back, but then I noticed a little stain that was left on the door. I took the rest of them off and panicked because all of them left a horrible stain on the door! Obviously since I’m only renting on a 9 month contract, I don’t own the flat or anything. I asked the guy at reception about it and he said that I had to remove it before inspections or else I’d have to pay to replace the entire door!

What the door looked like at the time:

Image

A quick search online, I tried various things to get it off the door. Bleach (did nothing), Magic Sponge (again, did nothing but it’s good for cleaning the sink and toilet!) and Goo Gone (made it a bit fainter but didn’t really do much else). At a loss, I went back to reception and this time it was a woman there. She said she didn’t want me to get fined since it wasn’t intentional damage so she checked the door out herself and gave me some graffiti remover. And you know what? IT WORKED.

This is what my door looks like now:

Image

So yeah, this is from personal experience. If you get crap like stains on your door/furniture from gel decorations or window cling-ons, use graffiti remover! You might have to scrub it with a sponge or towel for a while but it WILL come off! What a miracle πŸ˜€ No fines for me, and I hope you’ll take my advice if this ever happens. Don’t listen to any other advice from the internet because I spent all that money and it did NOTHING. e.e Graffiti remover all the way! I’ve learnt from this, no window decorations for anything other than windows and mirrors from now on.

Author: Jo

Graphic designer and dreamer. Contact: law.jo233@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “How to remove window gel decorations/clings from furniture! (and doors)”

    1. Hi! Unfortunately I don’t know the brand as I was living in student accommodation and borrowed it from staff, and didn’t really pay much attention to the brand… I think it looked like this one though? Hope this helps πŸ™‚

Leave a comment