Bunny Cafe //WIP

Image

Just another quick sketch of something I’m working on. I love working on setting and sceneries, it’s just finding time to draw backgrounds as they take so much longer than drawing characters. I wanted to do something with my new character Peter and since he was a mage, I thought having a nice picture of him doing something magical would be fitting. 

Often when I walk around my home town, I see lots and lots of cottages with lovely plants and vines growing on the outside of the building and they look so nice. It would be great if there was a cafe like that which sells tea and coffee really late into the night. I remember I was at a bar fairly late at night and they put fairy lights around the trees by the outside benches, they were incredibly pretty but unfortunately none of my friends wanted to sit on the outside so I didn’t stay long. Traditional Victorian lanterns which use candles or the early electricity ones interest me as they give off a lovely orange glow. I really hope I will have time to finish this soon since I haven’t finished a full painting for a very long time, I’ve only done sketches for the past few months.

Author: Jo

Graphic designer and dreamer. Contact: law.jo233@gmail.com

7 thoughts on “Bunny Cafe //WIP”

  1. I love this one. There is an artist that I follow on Facebook named Inocente who would love this. She’s always posting about her bunnies. It’s hard to believe this a quick sketch too because it’s so intricate. Anyway, great post. I like the imagery of the fairy lights by the café benches in your neighborhood. Sounds like a lovely place!

    1. I’ve just looked at their work, it’s very cute! I’ve even liked their page. 😀 And thank you, I will have to try and find the photographs I’ve taken at the bar but since it was at night, they weren’t very good.I have a habit of taking photos of absolutely anything which interests me on my phone.

    1. Thank you! I think I know what you mean, there’s a sense of peace and serenity in my piece and warmth due to the orange ambience. I am quite a fan of E.H. Shepard’s Winnie the Pooh and Alice in Wonderland drawings too.

      1. Nice to know you knew what I was talking about then. We need more art like that in the world – too much photo shop if you know what I mean

      2. Both traditional and digital styles have their pros and cons, but I know what you mean. I wish I could get familiar with traditional materials again but it costs too much, particularly watercolours.

      3. Well I’m not trying to bash on modern day art it can be very enticing to watch and I know what you mean. Maybe one day when it’s affordable that will change

Leave a comment