Water Sanctuary //WIP

Water sanctuary

I had some free time today since I finished some work for university a bit before I was going to bed so I decided to draw this in about half an hour.

I’d like to think that everyone has a sanctuary or ‘safe haven’ where they can just get away from life and cool down. For me, my haven is my room at university since no one disturbs me here or when I’m at home I like to sit in the park under the stars. Today, I wanted to draw my character Alex and his familiar Caelum for a change. This particular doodle was mostly inspired by this drawing I made almost 2 years ago and partly by Ding-Dong-Dell sewers design in Ni no Kuni and Lascaux cave. When I image Alex’s personality, I see his sanctuary as something like this- in a cave filled with natural light, ancient paintings of Gods and dragons and only the sound of dripping water disturbing the deadly silence. That or just a really old place with a lot of history but not particularly a place other people will go to, like a dilapidated building or abandoned temple/church.

Whilst it is important to talk to people about your problems, solitude will help clear your mind. But for me, drawing always keeps me calm. I have plenty of sketches I hope to finish soon.

Author: Jo

Graphic designer and dreamer. Contact: law.jo233@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Water Sanctuary //WIP”

  1. Drawing and writing in my journal are my two sanctuaries. They both allow me to simply be. Nice illustration, btw! Can’t believe you did that under an hour.

    1. Thank you! And I understand what you mean, I have a separate journal where I post all of my troubles and worries and it makes me feel a little more secure about my life just venting, haha.

Leave a comment